1.25am

by zee

I was doing my slides you see (last minute worker) and was writing a little about our charming little ‘lah’s. I was quoting this essay I read in The Edge of Feb 2008 issue (soon to throw out/sell/recycle/give away), about the meaning of lah:

  • It is used to make a sentence friendly
  • To signify familiarity and solidarity (‘Come lah, join us.’)
  • Express irritation (‘Jahat lah you!’)
  • To make something we’ve just said more emphatic (‘Your mee siam damn sedap lah.’)
According to Cliff Goddard, a Linguistics professor in University of New England, Australia, 4 ideas are contained in the single term ‘lah’:
  1. I say this now,
  2. after what just happened,
  3. because I think you might think something else,
  4. and that is not good

To be translated into layman’s term, I quote the examples given above:

To the reticent friend: I say this now, after what just happened (you express reservations about joining us), because I think you might think something else (that we don’t want you to join us), and that would not be good.

To the stubborn child: I say this now, after what just happened (you defied me), because I think you might think something else (that defying me is acceptable), and that would not be good.

To the mee siam cook: I say this now, after what just happened (I ate your mee siam), because I think you might think something else (that I didn’t like it), and that would not be good.

Like damn frickin’ genius la us! (I say this now, after what just happened [I said we’re geniuses], because I think you might think something else [that we aren’t geniuses], and that would not be good.)

The paper costs USD14. Wonder if USM network allows me to freely access it.

*

My slides are 95% done! Now I just have to edit a little bit more, beautify it, animate it, and voila :D

I can’t believe that in a little more than 15 minutes we’ll be entering the 7th month of the year. (What have I achieved?) In 3 more days I’ll be in Dalian already! OMG this gives me a little jitters. What I’m gonna experience there will definitely be unforgettable, but thinking that I’ll be alone in a foreign land makes me nervous! It’s sort of like leaving home to study in Penang, but without the familiarity of our ‘lah’s or yummy foods (even white Singaporean beehoon is acceptable – in fact it’s a new fave for me) :O Some more I believe northern will definitely be so different!

And whoops, I realised I overbought my keychains :O Oh wells.

Jeen, Smay, Zhao Ying and I went to KL for a shopping trip. We went to Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Petaling Street for our shopping; and Central Market for my souvenirs. Woots we went socks crazy at one shop; however we’ve already bought 12 pairs ankle socks at another store.  We distributed our ankle socks in McD while eating Smay’s Shaker French Fries.

Yeah I can’t believe I chose those two colours as well :O Well it’s unique!

At my feet is the Malysian flag, beside the flag are the keychains I bought. Beside the (spoiled) TV is my half-emptyfull luggage, of which I’ve already thrown (yes, thrown) in some clothes and stuff but haven’t tidied yet :O I will do it tomorrow!

Aiks China bans FB and Twitter. This is horrible. :O Guess this calls for help from my brother!

