Listening: You Know – Liyana Fizi

by zee

The honey voice of Liyana Fizi whispers.

I got hooked to her music when she debuted as the singer of Estrella in 2007, a local indie-pop band that became one of the most well-known musicians in the relatively unchartered Malaysian musical waters. After its disbandment in 2009 she continued singing as herself with her own quartet.

You Know is Liyana Fizi’s latest single. Released at the last quarter of 2014, it is a collaboration with composer/producer Melissa Williams, part of the band Tempered Mental. Manis giler lagu ini, it’s on replay continuously during my drive to & fro work.

Just a quick smile
The curve of your lips
And I’m over the moon
Just a small sign
A glimpse of your heart
You know I’m sold for good
I don’t care where this goes
All that matters is that you know
It’s another kind of high that I get from you
I don’t even need to try
I am where I want to be
This time
You got me for life
Just the thought of us sitting so quietly
Where we don’t need to say a thing
‘Cause all that matters is that we know
It’s another kind of high that I get from you
I don’t even need to try
I am where I want to be
This time
You got me for life
You can set my world on fire
Love
So you’ve got me for life
You’re my Northern star
It’s another kind of high that I get from you
I don’t even need to try
I am where I want to be
This time
You got me for life
